Wednesday, March 3, 2010

Incarceron

Hugh Jackman's film company Seed has clinched the rights to a film tipped to be the next Harry Potter.

Fox 2000 has acquired the film rights for British author Catherine Fisher's young-adult novel "Incarceron." John Palermo will produce via Seed Productions, Palermo and Hugh Jackman's Fox-based company. The studio is going out to directors and writers right away to get the project going.

Fisher, who was born in Newport, Wales, has penned several mythic fantasy novels. Incarceron tells the story of a young boy who lives in a prison that is its own society.

The following is how publisher the Penguin Group describes the book:

A thrilling, high-concept fantasy for fans of Garth Nix and Nancy Farmer.

Incarceron is a prison so vast that it contains not only cells, but also metal forests, dilapidated cities, and vast wilderness. Finn, a seventeen-year-old prisoner, has no memory of his childhood and is sure that he came from Outside Incarceron. Very few prisoners believe that there is an Outside, however, which makes escape seems impossible.

And then Finn finds a crystal key that allows him to communicate with a girl named Claudia. She claims to live Outside- she is the daughter of the Warden of Incarceron, and doomed to an arranged marriage. Finn is determined to escape the prison, and Claudia believes she can help him. But they don't realize that there is more to Incarceron than meets the eye. Escape will take their greatest courage and cost more than they know.


The fantasy book, which was released three weeks ago in the US and in the UK in 2007, has already secured a place on the New York Times children's bestsellers list. Fisher's follow-up, titled Sapphique, is due out in the US next January.

No comments:

Post a Comment